For full functionality of this page it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser Andrea Hughes | George Enescu Festival


Andrea Hughes was born in Romania in 1991 and raised in Utah, USA. She began studying violin at age 3. She received a Bachelor Degree at the Cleveland Institute of Music under Paul Kantor and Ivan Zenaty. Her childhood teachers include Deborah Moench, Dara Morales, and Ralph Matson. She has had additional instruction from artists including Joseph Silverstein, Dmitri Berlinsky, Ulf Schneider, Stephen Picard, Ilya Kaler, and Remus Azoiței.

At the Cleveland Institute of Music Andrea participated in the Intensive Quartet Seminar, and held positions of Concertmaster and Principal Second for the CIM Orchestra and Opera Orchestra. She performed as a member of Camerata Louis Spohr, Folkwang Kammerorchester Essen, Essener Philharmoniker, and Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal and regularly performs with the Utah Symphony.

Andrea performed numerous concerts with Rocky Mountain Strings, including tours to Poland, the Czech Republic, and Italy and was concertmaster of the Utah Youth Symphony for 3 years. She attended The Quartet Program, Heifetz Institute, Nuevo Mundo Festival & Academy, National Repertory Orchestra, Keshet Eilon Mastercourse, Blackmore International Music Academy, Szymon Goldberg Meisterkurse, and the Dorothy DeLay Masterclass Series.

Andrea won 1st prize at the Utah State Fair Violin Competition, UMTA Pre-Collegiate Instrumental Concerto Competition, Cleveland Institute of Music Concerto Competition, and the Nuevo Mundo Festival & Academy Concerto Competition. She won 2nd prize in the Young Artist Division of the MTNA National Competition and was a finalist in the Szymon Goldberg International Competition. She was also awarded the Dr. Jerome Gross Prize. She made her debut with the Utah Symphony at age 16 and soloed with the Cleveland Institute of Music Orchestra. Andrea has performed live radio broadcasts for Classical 89 and WQXR New York Radio. She recently performed on the Excellence in the Community Concert Series in Utah, and is a regular guest artist at the Temple Square Concert Series.


Online Round
Bach Adagio and Fugue from Sonata in C major for Solo Violin
Mozart Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major K. 219 (1st movement with cadenza)
Beethoven Violin Sonata No. 10 in G major Op. 96
Enescu “Ménétrier” from Impressions d’enfance Suite Op. 28
Paganini Caprice No. 24

Strauss Violin Sonata in E flat major Op. 18
Enescu Sonata No. 3 in A minor for Violin and Piano Op. 25, “dans le caractère populaire roumain”
Ravel Tzigane

Dvořák Violin Concerto in A minor Op. 53