For full functionality of this page it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser Alexander Kaimbacher | George Enescu Festival

Alexander Kaimbacher

The Austrian Tenor Alexander Kaimbacher works as a free-lance singer equally in Opera and Concert. He studied singing, drama, Waldorf education, theatre, film and media at the University of Vienna. He was member of the Ensemble Wiener State Opera from 2007 until 2010 and Bavarian State Opera from 2011 until 2016. Performances have brought him to theatres and concert halls all over Europe: to Théâtre des Champs Élysées, Philharmonie Luxembourg and Paris, Opera houses in Bari, Florence, Naples, Rome, Zurich, Teatro alla Scala, Gasteig Munich, Cologne, Wiener Musikverein, Teatro Monumental Madrid, ACF New York & Washington, to the festivals in Salzburg, Bregenz, Grafenegg, Klangbogen Wien, St. Petersburg and Festival Israel.

His wide repertoire reaches from Mozarts lyrical Tenorparts to the Character parts of Wagner and Strauss. He is a specialist in contemporary music. In 2016 Alexander Kaimbacher was celebrated for his outstanding and moving portrayal of Gustav von Aschenbach in Benjamin Britten’s Death in Venice at the Theater Bielefeld, for which he was named ”Best Singer of the Year” in the 2016 survey of music critics by Die Welt. In 2019 he returned to Zurich Opera House, taking on the role of Piet the Pot in a new staging of Ligeti’s Le Grand Macabre.

Every season he makes concert appearances in recitals with famous Lied cycles like Winterreise by Franz Schubert and Reisebuch aus den österreichischen Alpen by Ernst Krenek. In 2021/22 Kaimbacher will debut in the titel roles in Hiob by Bernhard Lang at the Theatre in Klagenfurt, in Eiger by Fabian Müller in Biel/Solothurn Switzerland and in the first German production of Egmont by Christian Jost in Bielefeld.

Alexander Kaimbacher has worked with conductors such as Marcello Viotti, Silvain Cambreling, Walter Kobera, Martin Haselböck, Tito Ceccherini, Manfred Honeck, Alfred Eschwe, Andres Orozco-Estrada, Christian Thielemann, Stefan Soltesz, Ulf Schirmer, Kirill Petrenko, Franz Welser-Möst, Omer Meir-Wellber, Seiji Ozawa, Semyon Bychkov, Philippe Jordan and Zubin Metha.