For full functionality of this page it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser Mădălina-Claudia Dănilă  | George Enescu Festival

Mădălina-Claudia Dănilă 


Mădălina-Claudia Dănilă is a Romanian born pianist who is currently pursuing her Doctoral Studies in Piano Performance at Temple University in Philadelphia, where she was awarded a full scholarship. She is under the guidance of Prof. Lambert Orkis and Dr. Sara Davis Buechner.

Mădălina started to play the piano at the age of 4 and graduated the Hariclea Darclée Art High School from Braila – her birthplace – under the guidance of Prof. Galina Matkovskaia. She entered the Bucharest Conservatory in 2009 under the guidance of Prof. Șerban-Dimitrie Soreanu and Prof. Sandu Sandrin.

Mădălina won the 1st prize, Special Prize George Enescu and the Special Prize Maria Fotino at the 2015 Mihail Jora International Competition in Bucharest. Between 2006 and 2009 Mădălina was awarded three scholarships by the Bucharest District Rotary Club. After her first year at Temple University, Mădălina was awarded the Marcia Korn scholarship for outstanding academic results. She has since performed solo, symphonic, and chamber music concerts extensively in the USA and abroad. Mădălina actively promotes the works of Romanian and contemporary composers, and was invited three times to perform in the International Meridian Festival, dedicated exclusively to contemporary music, in Bucharest. She currently works as a teaching assistant at Temple University’s piano program and as studio accompanist for the Temple University string and vocal programs.


Online Round
Bach Prelude and Fugue in B flat minor, WTC I
Beethoven Piano Sonata No. 1 in F minor Op. 2 No. 1
Chopin Étude Op. 25 No. 10
Scriabin Étude Op. 8 No. 12
Brahms 6 Klavierstücke Op. 118

Enescu Piano Sonata No. 1 in F sharp minor Op. 24
Bach/Siloti/Zadora Prelude and Fugue for Organ in G minor (transcription for solo piano)
Granados El Amor y la Muerte Ballade from Goyescas
Scarlatti Piano Sonata in D major K. 492

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major K. 467