For full functionality of this page it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser Daria Parkhomenko won the first prize at the 2018 Enescu Competition – Piano Section – George Enescu Festival

Daria Parkhomenko won the first prize at the 2018 Enescu Competition – Piano Section

The “George Enescu” 2018 Competition has come to an end. Daria Parkhomenko is the winner of the Piano Section. A Romanian and a Korean won the Composition Section.

Daria Parkhomenko (Russia, 27 years old) won the 2018 Enescu Competition, the Piano Section, with the Piano Concerto no. 3 in D minor op. 30 by Serghei Rachmaninoff. Following the jury’s vote,  Daria Parkhomenko and Daumants Liepinš had equal points, but the final decision was taken by the president of the jury, Philippe Entremont.

The Piano Final of the Enescu Competition took place on Sunday, the 23rd of September, at the Romanian Athenaeum. The second prize was awarded to Daumants Liepinš (Latvia) and Alexander Panfilov (Russia) occupied the third place. The finalists were accompanied by the George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra, led by the conductor Vassily Sinaisky.

Daumants Liepinš

Alexander Panfilov

The Constanța Erbiceanu Prize (2 500 euros), offered by the Erbiceanu Cultural Foundation, for “the most valuable Romanian competitor“, was awarded to the competitor Florian Mitrea.

Daria Parkhomenko, the winner of the Piano Section, was born on the 28th of April 1991, (Russia) currently studying at the University of Music and Theatre in Hamburg ( Stepan Simonian) and Fiesole School of Music (Prof. Eliso Virsaladze). She has performed in renowned concert halls such as Big Hall of Rostov Regional Philharmonic, Hamburger Laeiszhalle and Sendesaal Bremen, Mariinskij Concert Hall, alongside Norddeutschen Philarmonic Rostock, Lithuanian National Philharmonic, Tallin National Orchestra, Kaunas Orchestra, Tainan Artists Orchestra.

The results were announced on Sunday evening by the jury formed of Philippe Entremont (Jury President), Hyoung-Joon Chang, Dan Atanasiu, Dana Borsan, Andrei Pisarev, Pascal Rogé, Peter Jablonski and Philippe Dinkel.

During this final were also announced the awards for the Composition Section whose jury included Zygmunt Krauze (President of the Jury), Tim Benjamin, Dan Dediu, Adrian Iorgulescu, Peter Ruzicka, Hubert Stuppner and Cornel Ţăranu.

Alexandru-Ştefan Murariu (Romania) was the winner of the Symphonic Music Section (10,000 euro prize) with the Concert pour clarinette et orchestre. Also, for the Chamber Music Section (7,000 euro) the winner was Jung Hoon Nam (South Korea) with the Scattering for string quartet.

Organized as a stand-alone event since the 2014 edition, “George Enescu” International Competition invites the audience to discover some of the most talented young artists today, great names of tomorrow’s classical music, and to follow and support their journey to the top: winning the competition. This year “George Enescu” International Competition celebrates 60 years after the first edition of the Competition.


For further details, please access:

Contacts for the media:

[email protected], +40 740. 123. 689

[email protected], +40 732. 338. 010


Translation provided by Biroul de Traduceri Champollion