For full functionality of this page it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser Maria-Izabela Ghergu | George Enescu Festival


Maria-Izabela Ghergu was born on July 28, 1998, in Târgoviște, where she started to study cello at the age of 7. She continued her studies at the Dinu Lipatti National College of Arts in Bucharest under the mentorship of Ioana Stanciuc and Mircea Marian. She graduated the National University of Music Bucharest with a bachelor’s degree under the guidance of Marin Cazacu. She is currently studying for a master’s degree.

She is a laureate of many competitions in her homeland and abroad: 1st prize at the Giovani Talenti Rovere d’Oro International Competition in San Bartolomeo al Mare, Italy (2008); 3rd prize at the International Cello Competition in Liezen, Austria (2012); Grand Prix at the Alexandru Moroşanu National Competition (2014); Grand Prix at the Eugen Coca International Competition of Young Players in Chișinău (2015); Grand Prix at the Paul Constantinescu National Competition (2016); 1st prize at the Eduard Caudella National Competition (2020) and 1st prize at the George Manoliu Master of Strings International Competition (2021).

She participated in masterclasses held by Marin Cazacu, Mihai Marica, Denis Severin, Atanas Krastev, Mihail Jojatu, Ion Storojenco, Reinhard Latzko, Paul Handschke, and Marc Coppey. She performed as a soloist with orchestras such as The Royal Camerata, The National Youth Orchestra of The Princess Margareta of Romania Foundation, Ion Dumitrescu Philharmonic Orchestra of Râmnicu Vâlcea, Brașov State Philharmonic Orchestra.


Piatti Caprice Op. 25 No. 7
Bach Cello Suite No. 3 in C major BWV 1009
Haydn Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major Hob. VIIb/1
Schumann Adagio and Allegro in A flat major Op. 70
Debussy Cello Sonata in D minor L. 135
Ligeti Sonata for Solo Cello

Enescu Cello Sonata No. 2 in C major Op. 26
Prokofiev Cello Sonata in C major Op. 119
Davydov At the Fountain Op. 20 No. 2

Elgar Cello Concerto in E minor Op. 85